New Jersey's tallest lighthouse and the country's third tallest lighthouse! In 1993, the Inlet Public/Private Association adopted the Lighthouse as a symbol of the rebirth of the Inlet section of town. The restoration of the Absecon Lighthouse was completed in 1999, followed by the reconstruction of the Keeper's Dwelling in 2001.The third and final phase, the restoration of the 2-acre site was completed in 2003.
Funded by grants from the Casino Reinvestment Development Authority & NJ Department of Transportation's Transportation Enhancement Program, the site work phase restored many characteristic features of the historic grounds.
Visitors can enjoy strolling the 2-acre property, visiting the Keeper's Cottage museum and gift shop, and climbing the 228 steps to the top of the lighthouse. Keepers are on duty and share with visitors the magnificent 360 view of the Jersey shore, and the magnificent 1854 First-Order Fresnel lens in the lantern above.
Now a dog friendly destination, with water bowls, frisbees, and leashed dogs are allowed in the museum.